Omeo, Victoria Accommodation
Omeo Accommodation Map
Blue Duck Inn Hotel
Phone: 03 5159 7220
The Historic Pub on the banks of the Cobungra River.
The historic Blue Duck Inn stands in splendid isolation at the confluence of three Alpine trout streams – the Cobungra, the Bundara and the Mitta Mitta Rivers, surrounded by one million acres of alpine national park.
The site of the current historic bridge was originally called Jack's Crossing, named after the overseer of the Mount Wills station who drowned fording the flooded Cobungra River with a team of packhorses in 1856.
The original 1900 building was a slab construction cut from local timber, which operated as a butcher shop offering fresh meat to miners on the walking track from Omeo to the gold fields around Mt. Wills.
Billy O'Connell, a successful miner, bought the building and obtained a hotel license in 1912, on the promise that the main road would pass the site, a promise that did not eventuate as the first survey submitted was turned down by the Government. So O'Connell nailed a panning dish to the front of the hotel and wrote with irony, 'Blue Duck' on it in large letters - a mining term for a white elephant...
188 Great Alpine Rd,
Welcome to Snug as a Bug Motel, Omeo, This is an Owner Operated property, your hosts, Florence and Martin will make you welcome.
All of our 3 Styles of Accommodation are set in Genuine Historic buildings. Snug as a Bug Guest House was built as a Temperance Boarding house and Coach Stop in 1879, and reopened as a guest House in Nov 1996.
Snug as a Bug Motel units are set in one of the districts beatiful homesteads, moved from Hinnomunjie it was built in 1906, In 2001 it was relocated and transformed into 4 beautiful motel units.
The Guest house has 4 Separate guest Bedrooms all located on ground floor level with Private Ensuites to all rooms.
A Full Kitchen (shared), Guest Lounge with billiard table (shared), Open Fire Place in lounge room (Shared), Ground Floor, Off Road Car Park, Laundry Facilities (shared), Queen Size Beds, Air Conditioned.
Martins Place - 2 bedroom Unit
The date this was built is unknown, but it can be traced back 100 years, this was a store in the main street, close to where the old power station used to be, it also survived the 1939 fires in Omeo. Some years later the building was moved into its current location, it was used as an electrical repair shop. In March 2006 it was totally restored, and transformed into a 2 bedroom family unit, it can comfortably accommodate 1 double and 5 singles, and has a fold out double bed settee also.